poem: “howler queue.”

Originally posted to my patreon. Still haven’t edited this one just yet. Open to suggestions.

easily lost on the footnotes, I

splendidly laughed in the bathtub.
smoking a cigarette of bath bubbles,
poking my toesiewoesies out the bath bubbles water I
listened to the rains slam against the rocks in the drive and on the roof

and everywhere I looked I
was naked and unafraid.
whistle tunes,
notes and those funny shapes strung together on song sheets,
wish we could read together. I

will even dry off for you
so we can lay out on the couch together,
poor circulation in my legs and all,
and have at our own little word-shapes
on whatever print or digital
lose my place anyway when my phone buzz.
What a bad time to be here.
oh, I do still want you to come over,
though, but I may not be much fun.

Why don’t I call you and
why don’t I say all of this to you
over the phone so I can say more to you
when you get here? I

like the way your hair feels
and I learned that fish can smell even
underwater and I forgot that so I
wound up relearning it recently:
catfish are supposed to have crazy
good sense of smell.
Which reminds I of you.
I forgot to turn off the burner,
so it’s a good thing you might come over
or I would never have checked.

So you should bring some wine.
I don’t like the way you do lemon squares,
no, and so yea do not bring any of those by. Just bring yourself.

If I made a mistake I’ll own up to it.

But I didn’t fuck up this time I
did everything the way I
am supposed to.
I had waited until the rain stopped and then I
decided not to drown myself and I
called you instead.
I do one thing at a time,
and until I
get sick of what I
am doing I
don’t see how I
could do anything better.
I’ll put it on my to-do list.
Gotta let myself make mistakes.
You know? I
know. Just got to
make’em.

Leave a comment